top of page
Search

#AMMConnect


Hey, hey! I'm Britt (aka Imogen Isles). I'm a first-time AMM hopeful!


My love of YA knows no bounds, especially when it comes to Fantasy or Paranormal or Speculative Fiction. Atmosphere. World building. Poetry. Seriously, give me all the eerie, beautiful vibes and I'm hooked. Some of my favorite books are from Laini Taylor, VE Schwab, Maggie Stiefvater, and Libba Bray. I aspire to weave words together the way they do.



The YA story I'm submitting, A Merciful Poison, is about a teen who's grappling with the discovery that someone she loves has been poisoning her. But it's not just any type of poison. It's a magic-suppressant disguised as iron supplements. The revelation upends her life, putting her future plans for college on hold as she plunges heart-first into the supernatural war brewing inside the colonial town of Mercy Hill, Virginia. There's a lot of magic, a sprinkle of romance, and a dash of Greek mythology.



I think I'd make a great mentee because I am constantly working to mold myself into the best writer I can be. I think my strength lies in my self-awareness, which allows me the ability to step back and analyze what my areas of opportunity are, make goals, and take the steps to meet them. Not only do I want to strengthen my personal skillset, but I also want this story to be the best version it can be. I believe in it at it's core and in my characters, but I also understand that to elevate the story, that means there's probably going to be a lot of tough decisions I'll need to make. My ultimate goal in submitting for AMM is both professional and personal development. I strive to grow as a storyteller, to start building the foundation for a career, and to create positive, supportive relationships with my peers! I also really want to become a strong critique partner to better help others grow.


Just like I love reading about it, I love world-building and creating atmosphere. But I think I can get too caught up in it, so I tend to slow down the pacing by getting overly descriptive. I need to work on concise wording. And dialogue. Making sure teens actually sound like they're seventeen and you know, not twenty-somethings struggling with student loans and rent payments.


I'm so excited for submission to open and am so grateful for this opportunity! I look forward to connecting with everyone!


90 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page